Children of Blood and Bone (Legacy of Orisha #1) (Hardcover)

Children of Blood and Bone (Legacy of Orisha #1) Cover Image
$18.99
Usually Ships in 1-3 Days

Other Books in Series

This is book number 1 in the Legacy of Orisha series.

Spring 2018 Kids’ Indie Next List


“When Zelie was a child, she saw her mother and all magic wiped from existence with a tyrant's single, sweeping order. Now she finds herself tasked with restoring that magic to the land of Orisha, with the aid of her brother and that same tyrant's daughter. As Zelie races against time, she reckons with her newfound abilities and the moral complexities they awaken her to. Adeyemi's debut features truly epic world-building without sacrificing the intimate character development that propels the narrative. Every action combines taut pacing with lucid internal monologue, lending each work of magic or physical blow a palpable emotional weight. Stunning, cinematic, and resonant.”
— Bill Grace, Buttonwood Books & Toys, Cohasset, MA

Description


Instant New York Times Bestseller
TIME Top 100 Fantasy Books of All Time
TIME 100: Most Influential People of 2020
New York Times Notable Children's Books of 2018
TIME Top 10 Best YA and Children's Books of 2018
NPR's Book Concierge 2018 Great Reads List
Buzzfeed's 24 Best YA Books of 2018
Bustle's Top 25 Best Young Adults Books of 2018
2018 Kirkus Prize Finalist
YALSA William C. Morris YA Debut Award Finalist
Paste Magazines 30 Best YA Novels of 2018

Newsweeks 61 Best Books from 2018
Boston Globes Best Children's Books of 2018
Publishers Weekly Best YA Books of 2018
School Library Journal Best Books of 2018

2019 YALSA Teen's Top Ten List

With five starred reviews, Tomi Adeyemis West African-inspired fantasy debut, and instant #1 New York Times Bestseller, conjures a world of magic and danger, perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Sabaa Tahir.


They killed my mother.
They took our magic.
They tried to bury us.

Now we rise.

Zlie Adebola remembers when the soil of Orsha hummed with magic. Burners ignited flames, Tiders beckoned waves, and Zlies Reaper mother summoned forth souls.

But everything changed the night magic disappeared. Under the orders of a ruthless king, maji were killed, leaving Zlie without a mother and her people without hope.

Now Zlie has one chance to bring back magic and strike against the monarchy. With the help of a rogue princess, Zlie must outwit and outrun the crown prince, who is hell-bent on eradicating magic for good.

Danger lurks in Orsha, where snow leoponaires prowl and vengeful spirits wait in the waters. Yet the greatest danger may be Zlie herself as she struggles to control her powers and her growing feelings for an enemy.

"A phenomenon." Entertainment Weekly

The epic Ive been waiting for. New York Times-bestselling author Marie Lu

You will be changed. You will be ready to rise up and reclaim your own magic! New York Times-bestselling author Dhonielle Clayton

The next big thing in literature and film. Ebony

One of the biggest young adult fiction debut book deals of the year. Teen Vogue

This title has Common Core connections.

#1
New York Times bestseller, March 14, 2018

About the Author


Named one of TIME magazine's 100 most influential people, Tomi Adeyemi is a Hugo and Nebula Award-winning Nigerian-American writer and storyteller based in Los Angeles, CA. After graduating from Harvard University with an honors degree in English literature, she studied West African mythology, religion, and culture in Salvador, Brazil. Her first novel, Children of Blood and Bone, debuted at #1 on The New York Times Bestseller list and is being developed into a movie by Disney's Fox & Lucasfilm. Its highly anticipated sequel, Children of Virtue and Vengeance, also debuted at #1 on the New York Times Bestseller list. When shes not working or playing with puppies, Tomi can be found teaching creative writing at thewritersroadmap.net. In 2020, she was named one of Forbes 30 Under 30 in Media, and her website has been named one of the 101 best websites for writers by Writers Digest.

Praise For…


New York Times Notable Children's Books of 2018
TIME Top 10 Best YA and Children's Books of 2018
NPR's Book Concierge 2018 Great Reads List
Bustle's Top 25 Best Young Adults Books of 2018
2018 Kirkus Prize Finalist
Paste Magazines 30 Best YA Novels of 2018
Newsweeks 61 Best Books from 2018
Boston Globes Best Children's Books of 2018
Publishers Weekly Best YA Books of 2018
School Library Journal Best Books of 2018
Chicago Public Library Best Books of 2018
New York Public Library Top Ten Showstopper Favorite of 2018 (Notable 100 Books for Kids)
A TAYSHAS 2019 Reading List Pick
2019 YALSA Best Fiction Pick
2019 YALSA Teen's Top Ten List

A magnificent, heartrending, earthshaking debut. New York Times-bestselling author Daniel Jos Older

"High stakes, a captivating fantasy landscape, and a brave heroine worth rooting for make Children of Blood and Bone unlike anything I've ever read." Kami Garcia, #1 New York Times bestselling co-author of Beautiful Creatures and author of The Lovely Reckless

"Powerful, captivating, and rawAdeyemi is a talent to watch. Exceptional." Kirkus, Starred Review

"Adeyemis devastating debut is a brutal, beautiful tale of revolution, faith, and star-crossed love." Publishers Weekly, Starred Review

"... Adeyemi keeps it fresh with an all-black cast of characters, a meaningful emphasis on fighting for justice, a complex heroine saving her own people, and a brand of magic made more powerful by the strength of heritage and ancestry. Perfect for fans of the expansive fantasy worlds of Leigh Bardugo, Daniel Jose Older, and Sabaa Tahir." Booklist, Starred Review

"...A refreshing YA fantasy with an allWest African cast of characters that should be on every shelf." School Library Journal, Starred Review

"This is an exceptional debut from the author and will have a huge audience desperately waiting for more. Children of Blood and Bone is perfect for fans of Nnedi Okorafor, Nancy Farmer, and Angie Thomas." VOYA, Starred Review

"Nigerian culture and geography... give this fantasy a distinct flavor, further distinguished by the intensity of emotion." Horn Book

Meet Tomi Adeyemithe new J.K. Rowling. (Yep, shes that good). Entertainment Weekly

Poses thought-provoking questions about race, class and authority that hold up a warning mirror to our sharply divided society. The New York Times

A fast-paced, excellently crafted hero's journeypopulated with compelling and nuanced black characters. NPR

A debut novel that is nearly impossible to put down.USA Today

Adeyemis writing is beautiful and immersive. Tor.com

A miraculous achievement. The Guardian

Product Details
ISBN: 9781250170972
ISBN-10: 1250170974
Publisher: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)
Publication Date: March 6th, 2018
Pages: 544
Language: English
Series: Legacy of Orisha