The Hundred-Year Flood (Paperback)

Staff Pick Logo
The Hundred-Year Flood Cover Image
$14.95
Usually Ships in 1-3 Days

Staff Reviews


Salesses’ debut novel is a book about identity, 

though less a pristine story of origins and more a 

story about the lies that make us, the myth of the past 

and its illusive nature when held against the present. 

The characters are beautiful, the movement of the 

story well-paced—it is overall a very promising 

introduction to Salesses’ craft.

— Addison

Description


In the tradition of Native Speaker and The Family Fang, Matthew Salesses weaves together the tangled threads of identity, love, growing up, and relationships in his stunning first novel, The Hundred-Year Flood. This beautiful and dreamlike debut follows twenty-two-year-old Tee as he escapes to Prague in the wake of his uncle's suicide and the aftermath of 9/11. Tee tries to convince himself that living in a new place will mean a new identity and a chance to shed the parallels between him and his adopted father. His life intertwines with Pavel Picasso, a painter famous for revolution; Katka, his equally alluring wife; and Picasso's partner--a giant of a man with an American name. In the shadow of a looming flood that comes every one hundred years, Tee contemplates his own place in life as both mixed and adopted and as an American in a strange land full of heroes, myths, and ghosts.

Product Details
ISBN: 9781477828373
ISBN-10: 1477828370
Publisher: Little a
Publication Date: September 2015
Pages: 236
Language: English